Funny Reads for Middle School

The Crims book cover

The Crims (Crims #1) by Kate Davies

The Addams Family meets Despicable Me in the first book of this new trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! The Crim family is full of notorious criminals. Notoriously inept, that is. Uncle Knuckles once tried to steal a carnival. Great-Uncle Bernard held himself hostage by accident. Aunt Drusilla died slipping on a banana peel. But Imogen is different. She was born with a skill for scandal. A knack for the nefarious. A mastery of misdemeanors. Despite her natural talent for all things unlawful, Imogen got out of the family business years ago. But when the rest of the Crims are accused of pulling off a major heist, which seems doubtful, to say the least, Imogen is forced to step in to clear their names. Because only a truly skilled criminal can prove the bumbling family's innocence.

Fuzzy book cover

Fuzzy by Tom Angleberger and Paul Dellinger

When Max (Maxine Zealster) befriends her new robot classmate Fuzzy, she helps him navigate Vanguard Middle School and together they reveal the truth behind the Robot Integration Program.

Dance book cover

Down with the Dance (Middle School Mayhem #1) by C.T. Walsh

Meet Austin Davenport, whose fabulous luck landed him on this earth only eleven short months after his brother, Derek, putting them in the same grade. While Austin's brain power is unmatched, it appears as if his brother got all the athletic gifts and the family butt-chin, meaning their parents love Derek more than Austin, or so it seems.

Join Austin on his journey through the tumultuous waters of middle school as he navigates the swampy and undeodorized hallways and explores the depths of the cafeteria's seafood surprise

Universe book cover

Sal and Gabi Break the Universe (Sal and Gabi #1) by Carlose Hernandez

In order to heal after his mother's death, Sal learned how to meditate. But no one expected him to be able to take it further and 'relax' things into existence. Turns out he can reach into time and space to retrieve things from other universes.

Two book cover

The Terrible Two (Terrible Two #1) by Mac Barnett

Miles Murphy is not happy to be moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town that's famous for one thing and one thing only: cows. In his old school, everyone knew him as the town's best prankster, but Miles quickly discovers that Yawnee Valley already has a prankster, and a great one. If Miles is going to take the title from this mystery kid, he is going to have to raise his game.

Town book cover

When Mischief Comes to Town by Katrina Nannestad

When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she's not sure what to expect. Her grandmother is stern, the people on the island are strange, and children are supposed to be seen and not heard. But no matter how hard Inge tries to be good, mischief has a way of finding her. Could it be that a bit of mischief is exactly what Grandmother and the people of Bornholm need?

Funny Reads for Teens

Effect book cover

The Boomerang Effect by Jack Gordon

Because of his string of pranks, Lawrence Barry is one step away from reform school unless he agrees to mentor Spencer Knudsen, a Norwegian exchange student with Spock-like intelligence but no social skills. During Homecoming week, someone dressed as the school's Viking mascot starts destroying the homecoming floats, and Lawrence becomes suspect #1. As the situation spirals out of control, he realizes that Spencer may be his best friend -- the one he never knew he needed.

Brooding book cover

Brooding YA Hero by Carrie DiRisio

Have you ever wished you could receive a little guidance from your favorite book boyfriend? Ever dreamed of being the Chosen One in a YA novel? Want to know all the secrets of surviving the dreaded plot twist? Or maybe you're just really confused about what "opal-tinted, luminous cerulean orbs" actually are? Well, popular Twitter personality @broodingYAhero is here to help as he tackles the final frontier in his media dominance: writing a book.

Epic book cover

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo (Epic Crush of Genie Lo #1) by F.C. Lee

Sixteen-year-old Genie's focus on getting into a top-tier college is destroyed when an enigmatic transfer student, Quentin, helps her transform into a demon-fighter.

Haters book cover

The Haters by Jesse Andrews

For Wes and his best friend, Corey, jazz camp turns out to be lame. It's pretty much all dudes talking in Jazz Voice. But then they jam with Ash, a charismatic girl with an unusual sound, and the three just click. It's three and a half hours of pure musical magic, and Ash makes a decision: They need to hit the road. Because the road, not summer camp, is where bands get good. Before Wes and Corey know it, they're in Ash's SUV heading south, and The Haters Summer of Hate Tour has begun.

Theory book cover

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Ana is an honor student obsessed with being successful at everything academic, Clayton is her thirteen-year-old genius brother, the youngest student in their high school and Zak is gamer who is forced to join the quiz team by his teacher--but when Clayton sneaks off to a science fiction convention in Seattle while they are all there for a quiz bowl tournament, Ana is forced to rely on the unreliable Zak to find him.

Noteworthy book cover

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

After learning that her deep voice is keeping her from being cast in plays at her exclusive performing arts school, Jordan Sun, junior, auditions for an all-male octet hoping for a chance to perform internationally.

Stranger book cover

Stranger Things Have Happened by Jeff Strand

Fifteen-year-old Marcus tries to uphold the honor of his beloved great-grandfather, aka Zachary the Stupendous, by performing a daring magic trick involving a disappearing shark.

Upside book cover

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Avoiding relationships to protect her sensitive heart, plus-sized Molly supports her once-cynical twin, Cassie, when the latter has her own bout of lovesickness, a situation that is complicated by sibling dynamics and an unexpected romantic triangle.

Upside book cover

Waste of Space by Gina Damico

Cram ten hormonal teens into a spaceship and blast off: that's the premise for the ill-conceived reality show Waste of Space. The kids who are cast know everything about drama--and nothing about the fact that the production is fake.